Michigan auto insurance liability limits are set, like any other state, to insure that regardless of who you may get in an accident with, they have the coverage to pay for your damages if they are negligent. Those who don’t adhere to the Michigan auto insurance liability laws are subject to legal action, including being sued for damages. Below is the Michigan auto insurance liability limits with a brief summary of what each means.
All liability limits with Michigan auto insurance or any other auto insurance are listed in BIPD format, separated with slashes, like 20/40/10. Michigan auto insurance does demand minimum liability limits of 20/40/10, meaning:
Bodily Injury limits of $20,000 and $40,000 refer to how much you could expect from your auto insurance company to pay for another vehicle’s damage that you caused. If you caused an accident your auto insurance company would pay for up to $20,000 for injuries to one person in another vehicle, up to $40,000 for all passengers in that vehicle.
Property Damage liability limit of $10,000 means that your auto insurance company would pay for up to $10,000 in damages to the vehicles you damaged in an auto accident.
Michigan auto insurance law demands that you hold at least these limits for your vehicle, but for the price it is worth it to go a little higher. Vehicles and medical bills are more than ever these days and you don’t want to be in a bind.